BookTrust’s prizes (United Kingdom)

Children’s Laureate

The role of Children’s Laureate is awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children’s books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field. Lauren Child is the Waterstones Children’s Laureate 2017-2019 after being honoured at a special ceremony in Hull as part of the UK City of Culture celebrations. Previous Laureates include Chris Riddell, Malorie Blackman, Julia Donaldson, Anthony Browne, Michael Rosen, Jacqueline Wilson, Michael Morpurgo, Anne Fine and Quentin Blake.


From teaming up with Blue Peter to honour the books young people love, to the search to find the best international children’s fiction, our prizes and awards celebrate the best writing from the UK and beyond. The prizes and awards we run cover a wide range of genres and themes for children, and celebrate individual books as well as a whole lifetime’s achievement in literature.

BookTrust Prizes and Awards promote titles to a wide audience, bringing new releases to the public’s attention and providing access points for readers to engage with different types of books. Our prizes support writers and illustrators, rewarding them for their endeavours, and celebrate books and writers as an integral part of the UK’s arts and culture landscape.

The enormously popular and influential Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000. Previous Blue Peter Book Award winners include Michael Morpurgo, Katherine Rundell, Oliver Jeffers and Liz Pichon

In Other Words is a project to promote the translation and UK publication of outstanding children’s literature from around the world. Funded by Arts Council England, BookTrust will pay for sample translations of the shortlisted titles and present them to the UK publishing community at an event at the London Book Fair in April 2018, where up to four of the titles will be named as Honour Titles. Titles that are purchased by British publishers will be supported by a £1,500 grant towards marketing and publicity.

The BookTrust Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a children’s writer or illustrator whose body of work, in the opinion of the panel of judges, merits recognition for a lifetime’s achievement in children’s literature. Winners have been Raymond Briggs, Judith Kerr and Shirley Hughes. It is a separate recognition to the Children’s Laureate in that it is purely celebratory and is not attached to any wider purpose of promoting children’s literature. BookTrust intends it to be awarded to a person who is not likely to become Children’s Laureate in the future.

BookTrust has been involved with a number of prizes over the years, including the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction, the BBC National Short Story Award, the BBC Young Writers Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, the David Cohen Prize, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize, the BookTrust Early Years Awards, the BookTrust Teenage Prize, the BookTrust Best New Illustrators Award, the BookTrust Best Book Awards , the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize, New Writing Ventures, the Orange Prize for Fiction, the Orange Award for New Writers, the Power of Reading Award and the YoungMinds Award.

These projects are run by BookTrust (United Kingdom)